top of page

The Unexpected Guest - Part 4

Jameson? A very familiar name. Read on to discover more in this, the forth instalment of our short story 'The Unexpected Guest', written by Allen Stroud.

Roberts reads slowly from the screen.

“In 3125, the first Peter Jameson left Lave Station at the start of his great expedition which brought him fame and fortune. After him came Naomi Jameson, his daughter the explorer, who in 3163, crashed into a planet in the Zearla system while chasing a comet and bankrupting the family in the process. In 3200, Peter Jameson II, grandson of the famous pioneer followed the same crazy dream as his grandfather and this time, the money stuck. The Jameson family spread out across the stars, adventuring their way into legend.”


“All very exciting,” I say. “But that doesn’t explain how more than a hundred years later, a Jameson body got into that cargo hold.”


Roberts sighs. “I don’t think we’ll get an answer to that until they’ve finished and it gets to GalNet.”


“Seems a bit unfortunate,” I say. “We’re right here. We can find out.”


Roberts glares at me. He touches the pips on chest of his overall. “Shouldn’t need to tell you Saul, I outrank you. Best you leave it. All this is way above our pay grades.”


I hold his gaze, but he’s not backing down.


I’m the one who looks away. “You’re probably right.,” I mutter.


“Yeah, you know I am. Leave it to them investigators, that’s what they’re paid for.”


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page